14 September 2022

Apple now allows you to edit and delete messages with iOS 16

Maybe you’re regretting sending that risky text? Not to worry, now you can delete it and pretend it never happened!

We’ve all been there, you’re deep into a fresh talking stage and you decide to take things up a notch by sending an incredibly risky text. Shortly after though, your heart begins racing as you realise that the message you’ve sent is quite possibly the most cringeworthy thing you’ve ever read. Luckily, that won’t be an issue anymore for iPhone users as you can now edit and unsend texts

The new feature comes as part of the new iOS 16 update and will allow you to edit messages up to 15 minutes after they’ve been sent and fully delete them up to two minutes after being sent. Recipients will also see previous versions of edited texts and like Instagram, they’ll be notified if a message is unsent. The feature only works if the recipient also has the latest operating system. The update comes only a few weeks after Twitter announced they were trialling their own edit button on the site.

So, whether you’re just horribly bad at spelling or just looking to delete a terribly embarrassing accidental text to the wrong person, it might be time to start making some space for iOS 16.

  • Writer Chris Saunders
  • Banner Image Credit Pexels

Related Content