Music / News

The Mercury Prize ‘albums of the year’ have been announced

Check out who’s made the list.

Hyundai’s Mercury Prize has since its creation celebrated and promoted the best of British and Irish music.

This year’s shortlist was chosen by an independent judging panel including some of the most influential heads in the industry; Including Annie Mac; Clara Amfo; Jeff Smith; Jorja Smith and Stormzy.

The judges said ‘This year’s Hyundai Mercury Prize celebrates both the striking diversity of British and Irish music-makers and their shared purpose in exploring issues of identity and belonging at a time of division and disagreement. And all this is done with music of passion, wit, insight, ambition and heart-stirring optimism!’

Scroll down to find out who made it:

The 2019 Hyundai Mercury Prize ‘Albums of the Year’ are:

Anna Calvi  ‘Hunter’

Black Midi ‘Schlagenheim’

Cate Le Bon ‘Reward’

Dave ‘Psychodrama’

Foals ‘Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost – Part 1’

Fontaines D.C. ‘Dogrel’

IDLES ‘Joy as an Act of Resistance’

Little Simz ‘Grey Area’

NAO ‘Saturn’

SEED Ensemble ‘Driftglass’

slowthai ‘Nothing Great About Britain’

The 1975 ‘A Brief Inquiry into Online Relationships’


25 July 2019